Learn, explore, and study with our online databases that can help you learn new skills, find a job, trace your heritage, do research, and more. We provide more than 60 databases that cover 14 categories including, but not limited to animals, auto repair, business, and history. Browse topics for fun or dig in deeper to discover something new.
Academic Search Premier is a leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines and other valuable resources.
More than 9,000 articles and research updates with citations
Federal census, birth, death, and marriage records. Only available for use in the library.
An online database of world maps
Maps, flags, photos & facts about US states, counties, cities & territories
Comprehensive guide to country culture information.
A detailed travel resource for business and leisure travelers for more than 200 world cities
Search for people and businesses, conduct market research and discover business opportunities
Powered by the automotive experts at MOTOR, Auto Repair Source provides service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported vehicles. All content comes from the Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM) and includes step-by-step repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts and labor estimates, service bulletins and recalls.
This biographical database offers the in-depth profiles from Current Biography and World Authors, the periodical coverage of Biography Index and the specialist content of Junior Authors & Illustrators. It provides full-text articles, images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.
Engaging online literary resource to build a love of reading in children
Digital magazine that provides book reviews, recommendations, and author interviews.
Business Source Premier features full text and searchable cited references for top journals covering a variety of business disciplines.
Explore and stay informed on local topics, people and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues and more. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources spanning the Chicago area including the Chicago Sun-Times, Daily Herald and Kane County Chronicle. Available remotely 24/7 on any device.
16th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style
Explore Chicago history through local news, events and people with the Chicago Sun-Times Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Available remotely 24/7 on any device.
The Chicago Tribune full text
Reliable automotive help online. Includes vehicle maintenance, repair, and technical service bulletins for most years, makes, and models.
Consumer Health Complete supports the information needs of patients and fosters an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine.
Product ratings from Consumer Reports world-famous test labs
Thousands of award-winning art & craft video classes taught by recognized design experts and artists.
Detailed cultural information on more than 200 countries
Kid's-eye view of daily life in countries around the world
Explore all US states in colorful, kid-friendly reports
Explore Arlington Heights and suburban area history through local news, events and people with the Daily Herald Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Available remotely 24/7 on any device.
Educate Station offers weekly and monthly lesson plans for teachers and home school parents of students in per-kindergarten through 5th grade.
Access over 350 million restricted images and name indexes when you log into your free FamilySearch account within the library.
Information on jobs, industry overviews, internships and scholarships
Collection of 15 databases featuring articles on a wide variety of topics
Gale’s premier periodical resource, Gale Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Search multiple premier literature databases simultaneously--contains critical analysis, work overviews, author biography & more
With over 460,000 company profiles, including 2,000 with deep links to related content and Refinitiv statistical data, Gale Business Insights: Global provides daily updates to keep up with the ever-changing corporate landscape.
Gale Courses provides more than 360 six-week long, online programs taught by college instructors. New courses begin each month, and lessons are assigned twice a week, enhanced with images, videos, and games to support varied learning styles.
Authoritative directories on companies, publishers, associations and more
The Gale eBooks homepage allows users to either browse by subject or search the full catalog.
Most content in Gale General OneFile is full-text with no embargo and recommended by Bowker's Magazines for Libraries. Included is reference, newspaper, and audio content that complements the resource's robust collection of magazines and journals.
Gale Health and Wellness offers 24/7 access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more.
Available resources include full-text proprietary content from top education publishers, like Encyclopaedia Britannica, Blackbirch Press, KidsPost from the Washington Post, Youngzine, and more.
Integrating case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more, Environmental Studies is updated daily with relevant information. The resource offers nearly 400 topic, state, and province pages across the science, social studies, and humanities curriculum, including Water Privatization, Ecotourism, Air Pollution, Green Economy, and more.
Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more, Global Issues is updated daily and offers 250 country pages and more than 400 issue pages. Exclusive to Global Issues, more than 6,000 viewpoint commentaries provide background and guidance on significant topics like Food Security, Genocide, Human Rights, Extreme Weather, and more.
Gale LegalForms offers a wide selection of essential state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms that may be customized for the most common legal procedures. These forms are used by attorneys and law firms. Includes real estate contracts, wills, premarital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant, and many others.
Contains literary criticism and author biographies for contemporary literature
Biographies and critical analyses of novelists, poets, and essayists
The award-winning Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography provides comprehensive access to the series dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers while simultaneously satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers, and scholars.
Gale Literature: LitFinder provides access to a wealth of literary works and secondary-source materials covering world literature and authors throughout history. Including more than 132,000 full-text poems and 670,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays.
Browse original scholarly essays on authors from around the world. Places authors and their works in personal and historical context.
Gale Literature: Something About the Author provides comprehensive access to all volumes ever printed in Gale's™ acclaimed and long-standing Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people.
Find in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers. Includes influences of literary movements.
This innovative full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. Gale OneFile: News provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
National Geographic Virtual Library brings the National Geographic Society to the library in a cross-searchable platform that fits the way today's students and patrons conduct their research.
Gale Presents: Udemy offers more than 10,000 high-quality, on-demand video courses taught by world-class instructors across 75 categories for upskilling in the areas of business, technology, and design.
Since its inception in 2009, the Archives Unbound program has published more than 500 collections. The roots of the program are in microfilm, and offers targeted collections of interest to scholars engaged in scholarly research.
Particular strengths in the Archive Unbound program include U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history. Broad topic clusters include: African American studies; American Indian studies; Asian studies; British history; Holocaust studies; LGBT studies; Latin American and Caribbean studies; Middle East studies; political science; religious studies; women’s studies; and more. The Archives Unbound program consists of more than 300,000 documents totaling more than 13 million pages. Individual collections in the program range between 1,200 and 200,000 pages.
450+ research eBooks and thousands of articles for expert information you can count on
A digital copy of the Geneva Republican newspaper covering years 1878-2016. All years are text searchable.
Live one-to-one homework help from 3-10 pm; practice tests and study aids
Census, genealogies, local histories, and military records
Includes Chicago Tribune (1849-1992), Wall Street Journal (1889-1998), New York Times (1851-2012), Los Angeles Times (1881-1991), Washington Post (1877-1999).
Covering both U.S. and world history topics, History Reference Center is a full-text database featuring historical reference books, magazines, journals and thousands of primary source documents.
In-depth investigations of issues in business, politics, government, education and popular culture
Live job coaching, resume assistance, practice interviews and more
A digital copy of the Geneva Kane County Chronicle newspaper covering years 2016-2017. The digital collection is text searchable.
Test preparation, practice test and job search information
Legal Information Reference Center is an online database designed to assist the general public in legal matters of all kinds. It includes exclusive full text for many top consumer legal reference books, as well as thousands of legal forms.
Online tutorials on business, software, technology and other creative skills
Literary Reference Center Plus is the definitive literary database covering all genres and timeframes. It includes thousands of full-text poems, short stories, synopses, critical essays, literary journals, reference books and author biographies, plus lesson plans and literary study guides.
Many languages are offered in online courses beginner to advanced
MasterFILE Complete offers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
Designed for middle school libraries, Middle Search Plus is a full-text database providing popular middle school magazines and reference books. Covering subjects such as history, current events, science and sports, it also includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents, plus over a million photos, maps and flags.
Comprehensive data and independent analysis on thousands of investments
An interactive and fun way to learn a second language.
Search full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and more from current and archived issues of the Kane County Chronicle. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
Summaries and reviews of fiction, and suggestions for what to read next
Discover great books to read, both fiction and non-fiction
Definitive Record of the English Language
Text, games, audio and video highlighting animal and science concepts for grades K-3
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
Older students can access magazines, animal and general encyclopedias
Search for Illinois new businesses, foreclosures & auctions and real estate transactions
Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, reference books and a vast collection of images.
Explains important developments in biology, chemistry, the environment, space, physics, and technology
Includes Chicago Tribune, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times and Washington Post full text.
Covers stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks
Provides financial education guides as well as ratings for insurance and banking institutions. Users can take advantage of tools to compare and decide between supplemental Medicare insurance plans, banks, credit unions, and insurance companies.
US and World News 1940-present
Find books and other materials in libraries worldwide
Powered by the automotive experts at MOTOR, Auto Repair Source provides service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported vehicles. All content comes from the Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM) and includes step-by-step repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts and labor estimates, service bulletins and recalls.
Reliable automotive help online. Includes vehicle maintenance, repair, and technical service bulletins for most years, makes, and models.
Search for people and businesses, conduct market research and discover business opportunities
Business Source Premier features full text and searchable cited references for top journals covering a variety of business disciplines.
Product ratings from Consumer Reports world-famous test labs
With over 460,000 company profiles, including 2,000 with deep links to related content and Refinitiv statistical data, Gale Business Insights: Global provides daily updates to keep up with the ever-changing corporate landscape.
Authoritative directories on companies, publishers, associations and more
Comprehensive data and independent analysis on thousands of investments
Search for Illinois new businesses, foreclosures & auctions and real estate transactions
Covers stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks
Provides financial education guides as well as ratings for insurance and banking institutions. Users can take advantage of tools to compare and decide between supplemental Medicare insurance plans, banks, credit unions, and insurance companies.
Federal census, birth, death, and marriage records. Only available for use in the library.
Access over 350 million restricted images and name indexes when you log into your free FamilySearch account within the library.
A digital copy of the Geneva Republican newspaper covering years 1878-2016. All years are text searchable.
Census, genealogies, local histories, and military records
Includes Chicago Tribune (1849-1992), Wall Street Journal (1889-1998), New York Times (1851-2012), Los Angeles Times (1881-1991), Washington Post (1877-1999).
A digital copy of the Geneva Kane County Chronicle newspaper covering years 2016-2017. The digital collection is text searchable.
Academic Search Premier is a leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines and other valuable resources.
Product ratings from Consumer Reports world-famous test labs
Collection of 15 databases featuring articles on a wide variety of topics
Gale’s premier periodical resource, Gale Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
The Gale eBooks homepage allows users to either browse by subject or search the full catalog.
Most content in Gale General OneFile is full-text with no embargo and recommended by Bowker's Magazines for Libraries. Included is reference, newspaper, and audio content that complements the resource's robust collection of magazines and journals.
Available resources include full-text proprietary content from top education publishers, like Encyclopaedia Britannica, Blackbirch Press, KidsPost from the Washington Post, Youngzine, and more.
Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more, Global Issues is updated daily and offers 250 country pages and more than 400 issue pages. Exclusive to Global Issues, more than 6,000 viewpoint commentaries provide background and guidance on significant topics like Food Security, Genocide, Human Rights, Extreme Weather, and more.
National Geographic Virtual Library brings the National Geographic Society to the library in a cross-searchable platform that fits the way today's students and patrons conduct their research.
450+ research eBooks and thousands of articles for expert information you can count on
MasterFILE Complete offers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
Designed for middle school libraries, Middle Search Plus is a full-text database providing popular middle school magazines and reference books. Covering subjects such as history, current events, science and sports, it also includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents, plus over a million photos, maps and flags.
Older students can access magazines, animal and general encyclopedias
Find books and other materials in libraries worldwide
Consumer Health Complete supports the information needs of patients and fosters an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine.
Gale Health and Wellness offers 24/7 access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more.
An online database of world maps
Maps, flags, photos & facts about US states, counties, cities & territories
Comprehensive guide to country culture information.
A detailed travel resource for business and leisure travelers for more than 200 world cities
This biographical database offers the in-depth profiles from Current Biography and World Authors, the periodical coverage of Biography Index and the specialist content of Junior Authors & Illustrators. It provides full-text articles, images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.
Detailed cultural information on more than 200 countries
Kid's-eye view of daily life in countries around the world
Explore all US states in colorful, kid-friendly reports
Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more, Global Issues is updated daily and offers 250 country pages and more than 400 issue pages. Exclusive to Global Issues, more than 6,000 viewpoint commentaries provide background and guidance on significant topics like Food Security, Genocide, Human Rights, Extreme Weather, and more.
Since its inception in 2009, the Archives Unbound program has published more than 500 collections. The roots of the program are in microfilm, and offers targeted collections of interest to scholars engaged in scholarly research.
Particular strengths in the Archive Unbound program include U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history. Broad topic clusters include: African American studies; American Indian studies; Asian studies; British history; Holocaust studies; LGBT studies; Latin American and Caribbean studies; Middle East studies; political science; religious studies; women’s studies; and more. The Archives Unbound program consists of more than 300,000 documents totaling more than 13 million pages. Individual collections in the program range between 1,200 and 200,000 pages.
Includes Chicago Tribune (1849-1992), Wall Street Journal (1889-1998), New York Times (1851-2012), Los Angeles Times (1881-1991), Washington Post (1877-1999).
Covering both U.S. and world history topics, History Reference Center is a full-text database featuring historical reference books, magazines, journals and thousands of primary source documents.
In-depth investigations of issues in business, politics, government, education and popular culture
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
Information on jobs, industry overviews, internships and scholarships
Live job coaching, resume assistance, practice interviews and more
Many languages are offered in online courses beginner to advanced
An interactive and fun way to learn a second language.
Gale LegalForms offers a wide selection of essential state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms that may be customized for the most common legal procedures. These forms are used by attorneys and law firms. Includes real estate contracts, wills, premarital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant, and many others.
Legal Information Reference Center is an online database designed to assist the general public in legal matters of all kinds. It includes exclusive full text for many top consumer legal reference books, as well as thousands of legal forms.
Engaging online literary resource to build a love of reading in children
Digital magazine that provides book reviews, recommendations, and author interviews.
16th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style
Search multiple premier literature databases simultaneously--contains critical analysis, work overviews, author biography & more
Contains literary criticism and author biographies for contemporary literature
Biographies and critical analyses of novelists, poets, and essayists
The award-winning Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography provides comprehensive access to the series dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers while simultaneously satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers, and scholars.
Gale Literature: LitFinder provides access to a wealth of literary works and secondary-source materials covering world literature and authors throughout history. Including more than 132,000 full-text poems and 670,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays.
Browse original scholarly essays on authors from around the world. Places authors and their works in personal and historical context.
Gale Literature: Something About the Author provides comprehensive access to all volumes ever printed in Gale's™ acclaimed and long-standing Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people.
Find in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers. Includes influences of literary movements.
Literary Reference Center Plus is the definitive literary database covering all genres and timeframes. It includes thousands of full-text poems, short stories, synopses, critical essays, literary journals, reference books and author biographies, plus lesson plans and literary study guides.
Summaries and reviews of fiction, and suggestions for what to read next
Definitive Record of the English Language
Explore and stay informed on local topics, people and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues and more. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources spanning the Chicago area including the Chicago Sun-Times, Daily Herald and Kane County Chronicle. Available remotely 24/7 on any device.
Explore Chicago history through local news, events and people with the Chicago Sun-Times Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Available remotely 24/7 on any device.
The Chicago Tribune full text
Explore Arlington Heights and suburban area history through local news, events and people with the Daily Herald Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Available remotely 24/7 on any device.
This innovative full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. Gale OneFile: News provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
A digital copy of the Geneva Republican newspaper covering years 1878-2016. All years are text searchable.
Includes Chicago Tribune (1849-1992), Wall Street Journal (1889-1998), New York Times (1851-2012), Los Angeles Times (1881-1991), Washington Post (1877-1999).
In-depth investigations of issues in business, politics, government, education and popular culture
A digital copy of the Geneva Kane County Chronicle newspaper covering years 2016-2017. The digital collection is text searchable.
Search full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and more from current and archived issues of the Kane County Chronicle. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
Includes Chicago Tribune, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times and Washington Post full text.
US and World News 1940-present
More than 9,000 articles and research updates with citations
Integrating case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more, Environmental Studies is updated daily with relevant information. The resource offers nearly 400 topic, state, and province pages across the science, social studies, and humanities curriculum, including Water Privatization, Ecotourism, Air Pollution, Green Economy, and more.
Text, games, audio and video highlighting animal and science concepts for grades K-3
Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, reference books and a vast collection of images.
Explains important developments in biology, chemistry, the environment, space, physics, and technology
Thousands of award-winning art & craft video classes taught by recognized design experts and artists.
Gale Courses provides more than 360 six-week long, online programs taught by college instructors. New courses begin each month, and lessons are assigned twice a week, enhanced with images, videos, and games to support varied learning styles.
Gale Presents: Udemy offers more than 10,000 high-quality, on-demand video courses taught by world-class instructors across 75 categories for upskilling in the areas of business, technology, and design.
Live one-to-one homework help from 3-10 pm; practice tests and study aids
Test preparation, practice test and job search information
Online tutorials on business, software, technology and other creative skills
